• Basic information


The paper was founded as La Nación Argentina on January 4, 1870, by former Argentine President Bartolomé Mitre and associates. The daily was renamed La Nación on August 28, 1945. La Nación's daily circulation averaged 165,166 in 2012, and still represented nearly 20% of the daily newspaper circulation in Buenos Aires. The paper is also distributed nationwide and around the world. Some of the most famous writers in the Spanish-speaking world—José Martí, Miguel de Unamuno, Eduardo Mallea, José Ortega y Gasset, Rubén Darío, Alfonso Reyes, Jorge Luis Borges, Mario Vargas Llosa and Manuel Mujica Láinez—have all appeared regularly in the newspaper's columns.

Affiliated grantees

Funded Innovation projects